top of page

West Cork Entries Top 150!

As the days draw nearer to one of the highlights of the 2020 Rally Calendar, the organisers of the Clonakilty Park Hotel West Cork Rally are proud to announce that the entry has now reached over 150 crews across all categories. At our recent rally launch, Cork Motor Club made several key commitments which have clearly resonated with competitors.

One of our commitments was to pass on any additional savings, if the opportunity arose. During a recent meeting with all Motor Clubs in Dublin, a democratic vote by Rally clubs yielded further savings for 2020 events. CMC and the West Cork Rally are proud to announce that these savings will now be redistributed back to our competitors as promised. Each crew will receive a voucher to the value of €60 at documentation scrutiny. This voucher may be redeemed in dozens of business in Clonakilty and surrounding areas over the weekend of the rally.

Among those who have entered to date includes multiple West Cork winners Donagh Kelly & Conor Foley in their VW Polo R5. They will face stiff opposition from drivers such as Alastair Fisher, Meirion Evans, Sam Moffett, Desi Henry, Tom Cave and Matt Edwards to name but a few. There is as always, a strong geographical spread of entries from across the island of Ireland as well as the UK and the modified entry already reflects this in abundance. John Dalton, Kevin Eves, Kevin Gallagher and Wesley Patterson are among the modified crews to have entered. David Guest, Vincent McSweeney, Gerard O'Connell & William Buttimer are among the locals who intend to take part.

The 2019 Irish Tarmac Historic Champion Duncan Williams is among the historic entrants as well as the 2005 West Cork Rally winner Denis Cronin. With the famous Ring stage running as the first stage on the Sunday morning for the first time in a number of years the Junior & Historic crews will get a chance to tackle this fabulous test. Live end of stage reports will be provided by Killian Duffy & Andy Walsh of and live coverage of stages will be provided by Special Stage Rally Review, beginning with the opening stage of the event at Ardfield. More details on the live coverage will be available shortly.

Cork Motor Club are also delighted announce that Calor have come on board as associate sponsors for this year’s rally.

The closing date for entries has been extended and a seeded list will be published on Wednesday 4th March as per regulations. A reminder to those that may still require accommodation, that any enquiries for accommodation should be directed to Mick Hanly at the email address

Kevin O’Driscoll Press Officer

Email: Phone: +353 86 2866256

862 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page